Recipes

Conference Morning Orange Rolls

I’ve shared my love of little family traditions many times, and this is one of them that has developed over the last few years: I love making orange rolls for LDS General Conference. (This is hardly unique ha, pretty much all of mormondom is making cinnamon rolls twice a year for conference!)

Speaking of which: conference was amazing this year. So much to ponder and study again. Sister Cordon, Elder Holland, Elder Rasband, Elder Sabin, Elder Choi, Pres. Jones and Elder Uchtdorf gave messages that especially stood out to me. What were your favorite talks?)

Anyway, I shared a photo of my favorite orange rolls on social media and someone asked for the recipe, so here you go! These are a little more “cakey” than airy bread because they’re quick rolls, but honestly I’m not at a point in my life where I have the patience for dough that takes more than an hour to make. And this one is quite tasty!

IMG_4818

I use this 30-Minute Dinner Roll recipe for the dough, then once I’ve mixed it I make up the filling and icing.

  1. Prepare dough
  2. Filling: mix about 6 Tbsp of softened butter, the finely grated orange rind from one orange (wash it well before!), about half a cup of sugar (add more if you need so it’s nice and thick and not runny. I tend to eyeball things…) and I like to add some cardamom.
  3. Icing: I use this Sour Cream Icing from Our Best Bites (those sugar cookies are SO good by the way, and this is now my favorite icing! It’s a little on the runnier side just FYI) Just whip up the following:4 tablespoons softened butter
    1/2 cup sour cream
    1/2 teaspoon salt
    2 3/4 cups sifted powdered sugar
    1 teaspoon vanilla extract

    I usually let the icing chill while I’m finishing everything else up and waiting for the rolls to cook

  4. Roll out dough into a large rectangle after you’ve let it rise (about half an inch thick, ish? it puffs back up pretty fast so don’t worry about making it too thin!) and spread filling over it. Leave a little space on one of the long sides, roll it up from the other long side and press the dough so it holds in a long roll.
  5. Use this dental floss technique to slice the roll into 12 pieces, arrange into large casserole dish. You can let it sit another 10 minutes if you want, the rolls will rise a bit more and squeeze together.
  6. Bake at 400° F for about 15-20 minutes (until barely golden on the top — make sure the center roll cooks through though!)
  7. Drizzle the icing all over, and serve fresh from the oven!

All told, it takes about an hour to an hour on a half, depending on how distracted by little people you are 😉 Hope you enjoy them, they’d be lovely for Easter breakfast too! I want to try out this Challah Bread this year, and I love this sweet Resurrection Rolls idea for kids.

Leave a Reply

